Aspect Explained with Example [Part-11]

Namaste. Let us learn aspects today. Aspect is called “Drishti” in Sanskrit. It means “to look at” or “to see”.  Like conjunction, planets affect each other via aspect too. Interpretation of conjunction and aspect is more or less same. But the way we calculate aspect is different from the way we calculate conjunction.

Every planet aspects or sees certain places from its place. Not only it aspects the places but also the planets situated there. All the planets aspect seventh from the place they are posited. Mars, Saturn and Jupiter have additional aspects. Mars, apart from standard 7th, aspects fourth and eighth place. Similarly, Jupiter also has fifth and ninth aspects and Saturn has third and tenth aspect too. You can see aspect of each planet on the blackboard.

Planet Aspect
Sun 7
Moon 7
Mercury 7;
Venus 7
Mars 4, 7, 8
Jupiter 5, 7, 9
Saturn 3, 7, 10

Rahu and Ketu do not have any aspect.

 Let me take our example chart to explain aspects

 In our chart, Sun is situated in 7th house. We know that all planets aspect 7th from its place. When we start counting from Sun, this is first, this is second, this is third, fourth, fifth, sixth and seven. Always keep in mind that in North Indian Chart, we count anti-clock-wise. So this place which comes out to be ascendant or first house is the house aspected by Sun. There is no planet in first house and hence Sun doesn't aspect any planet there.

Now let us take example of Jupiter. We know that apart from standard 7th, Jupiter also aspects 5th and 9th from its place. If we count 5 from the place of Jupiter, we reach to 3rd house where 1 is written. If we count 7, we reach to 5th house where Venus and Rahu are situated. If we count 9, we will reach to 7th house where Sun, Saturn and Mercury are situated. So we will say that Jupiter aspects Venus, Rahu, Saturn, Sun and Mercury in this chart.

 Interpretation of aspects is similar to interpretation of conjunction. Always keep in mind that nature of planet is very important when it comes to interpreting aspects. Aspects of natural benefics like Jupiter, Venus etc. improves the matter and the aspects of natural malefics like Saturn and Mars harms matter.

 This is all for today. Namaste!

You can subscribe to our exclusive collection of videos on astrology, Yoga, and spirituality. To subscribe, please click here -

Related Articles: